Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Sea Salt Spray Review

beach1

Lately I’ve been really into sea salt sprays for my hair.  I really like how they work with my curls and add texture.  I really like that my hair is really soft and shiny, but sometimes I like to change it up and have a more matte and piece-y look.

While shopping at Target, I came across the Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe texturizing sea salt spray.  I had never tried anything from the Not Your Mother’s brand and I was surprised at how affordable it was (I think was, like, $5 or something).  So, obviously, I bought it!  🙂

 

I can’t decide if I like the trigger-style spray nozzles or not.  They’re great for spraying in the front sections, but not quite as awesome for spraying in the back section of your head (or at least it’s a little more challenging for me).

This particular sea salt spray has a nice coconut-y scent, which is very pleasant, but sadly my hair does not hold fragrances for very long, so the scent faded pretty quickly for me.

This spray leaves my hair feeling slightly gritty, but not weighed down at all.  It really felt like my hair had been in ocean water, but still felt air-y and lightweight.

And make no mistake, there is SALT in the spray!  When I went outside, a breeze kicked up and a few locks blew into my mouth.  You will taste the salt in your hair!  lol

 

So here’s how used the spray to get the look in the photo below:

After I got out of the shower, I sprayed a generous amount onto my towel-dried hair (normally I only put product on the length of my hair, but with this I put a little bit at my roots too).

Then I flipped my head upside down and scrunched and diffused my hair on low speed and med-high heat.

After my hair was pretty much dry, I sprayed my hair again with the sea salt spray all over and scrunched with my fingers.

beach2

Overall, I was pretty pleased with the results of this sea salt spray.  I did find that my curls fell and relaxed a good bit as the day went on, so I may add some hairspray going forward if I want more hold in the curls.

 

I have to say, I was surprised to find a few Youtube-ers and bloggers that had this product in their “products I regret buying” lists.  But what surprised me more was the reason they didn’t like it:  Most of them said that they didn’t like how the product dried their hair out…

Just so we’re all on the same page – most, if not all, sea salt sprays are going to dry your hair out.  Salt draws out moisture – that’s what it does.  That’s how the spray creates the textured and piece-y look in your hair.

So if you already have really dry hair, you may want to start using a deep conditioner with more regularity (perhaps weekly) if you want to start incorporating a sea salt spray into your hair routine.

A few people also said it made their hair look frizzy.  I can sort of see what their saying, but again, if you already have dry/frizzy hair, this may be a bigger problem for you.

I personally find the best combination to be a sea salt spray and a curl serum.  Adding the serum to your hair when it’s still wet/damp will help tame any frizziness and then the sea salt spray will still give you great texturizing results, but look a little more tame and under control.

Now, as most of you know, I already have a natural wave/curl to my hair.  So I truly don’t know how this product will work with stick-straight hair.

 

While I do really enjoyed Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe spray and was happy with the results, it’s not my favorite sea salt spray.  My favorite is the Toni & Guy Casual Sea Salt Texturizing Spray.  However, Not Your Mother’s is about 1/3 of the cost of Toni & Guy, so it makes for a great substitute if you’re needing to save a few $$.

So what about you guys?  Do you guys use texturizing sea salt sprays?  Do they work for you and your hair type?  Do you couple sea salt sprays with other styling products?

I’d love to know!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Sea Salt Spray Review

  1. This might be weird, but I actually really like using this product when I straighten my hair. I have naturally wavy hair, but love the look of straight hair…but not TOO straight. After I straighten my hair I spray a little salt spray. It makes it look a little more natural and I think it helps the style stay longer! (Also LOVE the smell!)

  2. I agree, this is a good cheaper alternative to some of the pricier ones. I used mine up a few months ago. I just cashed in Birchbox points on the Davines Sea Salt Spray…absolutely love it! Haven’t tried the Toni & Guy one yet though! I never dry mine – just spray, scrunch, and go. Love your idea of hairspray to set it – that’s one of those “duh” moments I wish I’d thought of 🙂

    • Ooooh! Davines! I’ve had my eye on so many of their shampoos/conditioners and styling products. I think I would probably prefer to spend BB points on it too because Davines is pricey and hard to find, while Toni & Guy is $15 or $16 and you can get it at Target! 🙂

  3. Toni & Guy is my favorite too! ~fist bumps~ I actually use my salt sprays to build up a little extra texture so my hair will form nicely (I hope that makes sense) instead of doing beachy curls. I can’t manage to pull off the beachy look without looking hopeless, but I do like how it controls the body in my hair.

    • I totally understand what you mean! I spray it near my roots because it somehow manages to give me a little bit of extra lift and makes the top of my hair not quite so flat! 🙂

  4. I looooooove sea salt sprays. I have very curly hair, but I find sea salt sprays soften my curls dramatically. I’ve never had issues with dryness, although I condition my hair all the time.

    I’ll have to try this one! Your hair looks great in the photo!

  5. I love them too! My fave is the Julep, but its kind of pricey. Maybe next time I run out i’ll try this one. You hair has such a great natural curl. 🙂

Leave a comment